CPA 054 - Charcoal Stoves in Kenya

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD11199

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

129,406 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

84,158 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2021 to 2023: 129,406 tonnes issued and 84,158 retired.025k50k75k100k2021 issued: 35,220 tonnes2021 retired: 34,516 tonnes20212022 issued: 50,321 tonnes2022 retired: 49,315 tonnes20222023 issued: 43,865 tonnes2023 retired: 327 tonnes2023
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202343,865327
202250,32149,315
202135,22034,516

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 15 December 2019, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 15 December 2019, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

91.1% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
CMA CGM42,1472026
REI34,5162025

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

BioLite, Inc.

Crediting period

15 Dec 2019 to 14 Dec 2024

Expected per year

49,023 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

CPA 054 - Charcoal Stoves in Kenya is registered with Gold Standard, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 129,406 tonnes issued and 84,158 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has CPA 054 - Charcoal Stoves in Kenya issued?

129,406 tonnes of credits have been issued and 84,158 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from CPA 054 - Charcoal Stoves in Kenya?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including CMA CGM, REI. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026