GS10789 VPA2: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD10791

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

1,264,381 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

160,200 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2021 to 2025: 1,264,381 tonnes issued and 160,200 retired.0125k250k375k500k2021 issued: 105,535 tonnes20212022 issued: 322,351 tonnes2022 retired: 99,773 tonnes20222023 issued: 445,966 tonnes2023 retired: 50,977 tonnes20232024 issued: 303,600 tonnes2024 retired: 9,450 tonnes20242025 issued: 86,929 tonnes2025
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202586,929none
2024303,6009,450
2023445,96650,977
2022322,35199,773
2021105,535none

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2025. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 6 October 2023, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2025. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 6 October 2023, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

20.8% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Civitas Resources33,3332025

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 4: Quality EducationGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Design

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Large scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

ECOA Climate Capital

Crediting period

6 Oct 2023 to 5 Oct 2028

Expected per year

37,083 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS10789 VPA2: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya is registered with Gold Standard, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 1,264,381 tonnes issued and 160,200 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS10789 VPA2: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya issued?

1,264,381 tonnes of credits have been issued and 160,200 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS10789 VPA2: Efficient and Clean Cooking for households in Kenya?

Registry records name 1 organisation: Civitas Resources. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026