GS11191 GS11193 RVPA-1 Biolite Improved Charcoal Stoves in Kenya VPA 1

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD11200

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

91,759 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

22,380 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2021 to 2023: 91,759 tonnes issued and 22,380 retired.012.5k25k37.5k50k2021 issued: 2,984 tonnes2021 retired: 2,984 tonnes20212022 issued: 47,187 tonnes2022 retired: 19,396 tonnes20222023 issued: 41,588 tonnes2023
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202341,588none
202247,18719,396
20212,9842,984

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 15 December 2019, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 15 December 2019, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

67.4% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
CMA CGM12,0972026
REI2,9842025

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 4: Quality EducationGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Large scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

BioLite, Inc.

Crediting period

15 Dec 2019 to 14 Dec 2029

Expected per year

1,498,873 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS11191 GS11193 RVPA-1 Biolite Improved Charcoal Stoves in Kenya VPA 1 is registered with Gold Standard, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 91,759 tonnes issued and 22,380 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS11191 GS11193 RVPA-1 Biolite Improved Charcoal Stoves in Kenya VPA 1 issued?

91,759 tonnes of credits have been issued and 22,380 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS11191 GS11193 RVPA-1 Biolite Improved Charcoal Stoves in Kenya VPA 1?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including CMA CGM, REI. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026