GS1247 VPA 128 Southern Ethiopia Community Boreholes

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD6038

Country

Ethiopia

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

29,985 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

25,711 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2017 to 2023: 29,985 tonnes issued and 25,711 retired.02.5k5k7.5k10k2017 issued: 4,947 tonnes2017 retired: 4,947 tonnes20172018 issued: 10,000 tonnes2018 retired: 9,878 tonnes20182019 issued: 4,662 tonnes2019 retired: 4,662 tonnes20192020 issued: 5,012 tonnes2020 retired: 2,889 tonnes20202021 issued: 2,918 tonnes2021 retired: 2,888 tonnes20212022 issued: 1,990 tonnes2022 retired: 447 tonnes20222023 issued: 456 tonnes2023
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
2023456none
20221,990447
20212,9182,888
20205,0122,889
20194,6624,662
201810,0009,878
20174,9474,947

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 14 June 2017, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2023. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 14 June 2017, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Ethiopia and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
0

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 6: Clean Water and SanitationGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

CO2balance UK ltd

Crediting period

14 Jun 2017 to 13 Jun 2024

Expected per year

10,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS1247 VPA 128 Southern Ethiopia Community Boreholes is registered with Gold Standard, located in Ethiopia. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 29,985 tonnes issued and 25,711 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS1247 VPA 128 Southern Ethiopia Community Boreholes issued?

29,985 tonnes of credits have been issued and 25,711 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026