GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Kenya VPA 4

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5317

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not provided

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

319,685 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

142,460 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2017 to 2024: 319,685 tonnes issued and 142,460 retired.025k50k75k100k2017 issued: 72 tonnes2017 retired: 72 tonnes20172018 issued: 11,442 tonnes2018 retired: 11,442 tonnes20182019 issued: 23,826 tonnes2019 retired: 23,826 tonnes20192020 issued: 52,364 tonnes2020 retired: 50,728 tonnes20202021 issued: 60,000 tonnes2021 retired: 3,693 tonnes20212022 issued: 60,000 tonnes2022 retired: 52,699 tonnes20222023 issued: 56,017 tonnes20232024 issued: 55,964 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202455,964none
202356,017none
202260,00052,699
202160,0003,693
202052,36450,728
201923,82623,826
201811,44211,442
20177272

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 12 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 12 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

31.2% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Etsy44,4272024

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Solar Thermal - Electricity

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

Climate Impact Partners Limited

Crediting period

12 Feb 2016 to 11 Feb 2026

Expected per year

42,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Kenya VPA 4 is registered with Gold Standard under the Not provided protocol, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 319,685 tonnes issued and 142,460 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Similar projects

Same methodology and country, largest issuance first.

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Kenya VPA 4 issued?

319,685 tonnes of credits have been issued and 142,460 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Kenya VPA 4?

Registry records name 1 organisation: Etsy. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026