GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Uganda VPA 2

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5315

Country

Uganda

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

82,368 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

46,850 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2016 to 2024: 82,368 tonnes issued and 46,850 retired.05k10k15k20k2016 issued: 2,116 tonnes2016 retired: 2,116 tonnes20162017 issued: 6,701 tonnes2017 retired: 6,701 tonnes20172018 issued: 11,976 tonnes2018 retired: 11,976 tonnes20182019 issued: 13,647 tonnes2019 retired: 13,647 tonnes20192020 issued: 12,410 tonnes2020 retired: 12,410 tonnes20202021 issued: 13,096 tonnes20212022 issued: 13,096 tonnes20222023 issued: 4,790 tonnes20232024 issued: 4,536 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20244,536none
20234,790none
202213,096none
202113,096none
202012,41012,410
201913,64713,647
201811,97611,976
20176,7016,701
20162,1162,116

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 12 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 12 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Uganda and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
0
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
0
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
15
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
6

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

1.9% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Etsy8902024

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Solar Thermal - Electricity

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

Climate Impact Partners Limited

Crediting period

12 Feb 2016 to 11 Feb 2026

Expected per year

42,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Uganda VPA 2 is registered with Gold Standard, located in Uganda. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 82,368 tonnes issued and 46,850 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Uganda VPA 2 issued?

82,368 tonnes of credits have been issued and 46,850 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS5304 MKOPA Solar Lighting Programme of Activities - Uganda VPA 2?

Registry records name 1 organisation: Etsy. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026