GS5382 Energy for Sustainable Development - Malawi 1

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5383

Country

Malawi

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not provided

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

37,894 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

37,892 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2016 to 2017: 37,894 tonnes issued and 37,892 retired.012.5k25k37.5k50k2016 issued: 9,455 tonnes2016 retired: 9,455 tonnes20162017 issued: 28,439 tonnes2017 retired: 28,437 tonnes2017
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
201728,43928,437
20169,4559,455

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passNo credits issued for vintages 2021 to 2026 in registry records.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passNo credits issued for vintages 2021 to 2029 in registry records.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Malawi and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

United Purpose Ltd

Crediting period

30 Aug 2016 to 29 Aug 2023

Expected per year

60,201 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS5382 Energy for Sustainable Development - Malawi 1 is registered with Gold Standard under the Not provided protocol, located in Malawi. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 37,894 tonnes issued and 37,892 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Similar projects

Same methodology and country, largest issuance first.

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS5382 Energy for Sustainable Development - Malawi 1 issued?

37,894 tonnes of credits have been issued and 37,892 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026