GS7591 VPA 1 Western Kenya Borehole Rehabilitation Project

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD7557

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

160,358 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

40,949 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2021 to 2024: 160,358 tonnes issued and 40,949 retired.025k50k75k100k2021 issued: 34,767 tonnes2021 retired: 34,767 tonnes20212022 issued: 58,304 tonnes2022 retired: 6,182 tonnes20222023 issued: 51,446 tonnes20232024 issued: 15,841 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202415,841none
202351,446none
202258,3046,182
202134,76734,767

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 28 April 2021, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 28 April 2021, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 6: Clean Water and SanitationGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

CO2balance UK ltd

Crediting period

28 Apr 2021 to 27 Apr 2026

Expected per year

60,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS7591 VPA 1 Western Kenya Borehole Rehabilitation Project is registered with Gold Standard, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 160,358 tonnes issued and 40,949 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS7591 VPA 1 Western Kenya Borehole Rehabilitation Project issued?

160,358 tonnes of credits have been issued and 40,949 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026