Kikonda Forest Reserve

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD2990

Country

Uganda

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

1,354,120 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

688,211 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2008 to 2022: 1,354,120 tonnes issued and 688,211 retired.0125k250k375k500k2008 issued: 3,946 tonnes2008 retired: 3,946 tonnes20082009 issued: 3,681 tonnes2009 retired: 3,681 tonnes2010 issued: 2,664 tonnes2010 retired: 2,664 tonnes20102011 issued: 19,433 tonnes2011 retired: 16,628 tonnes2012 issued: 72,008 tonnes2012 retired: 71,274 tonnes20122013 issued: 40,963 tonnes2013 retired: 40,963 tonnes2014 issued: 69,048 tonnes2014 retired: 67,048 tonnes20142015 issued: 133,628 tonnes2015 retired: 132,719 tonnes2016 issued: 135,062 tonnes2016 retired: 114,572 tonnes20162017 issued: 137,455 tonnes2017 retired: 70,456 tonnes2018 issued: 165,090 tonnes2018 retired: 52,631 tonnes20182019 issued: 219,215 tonnes2019 retired: 64,744 tonnes2020 issued: 196,565 tonnes2020 retired: 29,998 tonnes20202021 issued: 149,828 tonnes2021 retired: 16,807 tonnes2022 issued: 5,534 tonnes2022 retired: 80 tonnes2022
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20225,53480
2021149,82816,807
2020196,56529,998
2019219,21564,744
2018165,09052,631
2017137,45570,456
2016135,062114,572
2015133,628132,719
201469,04867,048
201340,96340,963
201272,00871,274
201119,43316,628
20102,6642,664
20093,6813,681
20083,9463,946

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 1 October 2002).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 1 October 2002).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Uganda and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
0
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
0
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
15
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
6

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

20.4% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Zalando139,1252021
Juustoportti Food1,1002022

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 12: Responsible Production and ConsumptionGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

A/R

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Standalone project

Developer

Nile Fibreboard Ltd.

Crediting period

1 Oct 2002 to 1 Oct 2050

Expected per year

18,058 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

Kikonda Forest Reserve is registered with Gold Standard, located in Uganda. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 1,354,120 tonnes issued and 688,211 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has Kikonda Forest Reserve issued?

1,354,120 tonnes of credits have been issued and 688,211 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from Kikonda Forest Reserve?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including Zalando, Juustoportti Food. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026