Letaba Biomass to Energy Project

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD467

Country

South Africa

Category

Not specified

Methodology

GS SS Ecologically Sound Fuel Switch to Biomass v1.

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

10,355 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

10,324 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2012 to 2017: 10,355 tonnes issued and 10,324 retired.01.3k2.5k3.8k5k2012 issued: 206 tonnes2012 retired: 206 tonnes20122013 issued: 2,885 tonnes2013 retired: 2,885 tonnes20132014 issued: 3,197 tonnes2014 retired: 3,197 tonnes20142015 issued: 1,191 tonnes2015 retired: 1,191 tonnes20152016 issued: 1,852 tonnes2016 retired: 1,821 tonnes20162017 issued: 1,024 tonnes2017 retired: 1,024 tonnes2017
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20171,0241,024
20161,8521,821
20151,1911,191
20143,1973,197
20132,8852,885
2012206206

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 4 October 2012).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 4 October 2012).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

South Africa and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
0
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
0
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
0

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Biomass, or Liquid Biofuel - Heat

Scale

Small scale

Structure

Standalone project

Developer

myclimate Foundation

Crediting period

4 Oct 2012 to 3 Oct 2022

Expected per year

16,883 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

Letaba Biomass to Energy Project is registered with Gold Standard under the GS SS Ecologically Sound Fuel Switch to Biomass v1. protocol, located in South Africa. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 10,355 tonnes issued and 10,324 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has Letaba Biomass to Energy Project issued?

10,355 tonnes of credits have been issued and 10,324 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026