M’tetezi Improved cook-stoves Balaka District Malawi

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD4539

Country

Malawi

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

365,063 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

54,764 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2021 to 2022: 365,063 tonnes issued and 54,764 retired.050k100k150k200k2021 issued: 187,486 tonnes2021 retired: 36,896 tonnes20212022 issued: 177,577 tonnes2022 retired: 17,868 tonnes2022
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
2022177,57717,868
2021187,48636,896

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2022. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 14 February 2021, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2022. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 14 February 2021, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Malawi and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Large scale

Structure

Standalone project

Developer

Project Developer

Crediting period

14 Feb 2021 to 13 Feb 2026

Expected per year

171,329 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

M’tetezi Improved cook-stoves Balaka District Malawi is registered with Gold Standard, located in Malawi. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 365,063 tonnes issued and 54,764 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has M’tetezi Improved cook-stoves Balaka District Malawi issued?

365,063 tonnes of credits have been issued and 54,764 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026