SEKEM tree project

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD4894

Country

Egypt

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

1,905 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

1,520 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2016 to 2020: 1,905 tonnes issued and 1,520 retired.01252503755002016 issued: 381 tonnes2016 retired: 304 tonnes20162017 issued: 381 tonnes2017 retired: 304 tonnes20172018 issued: 381 tonnes2018 retired: 304 tonnes20182019 issued: 381 tonnes2019 retired: 304 tonnes20192020 issued: 381 tonnes2020 retired: 304 tonnes2020
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
2020381304
2019381304
2018381304
2017381304
2016381304

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passNo credits issued for vintages 2021 to 2026 in registry records.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passNo credits issued for vintages 2021 to 2029 in registry records.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Egypt and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
0
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
0
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
2
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

No organisation named as beneficiary in registry records.

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 12: Responsible Production and ConsumptionGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Design

Project type

A/R

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Standalone project

Developer

SEKEM for Land Reclamation (SLR)

Crediting period

1 Feb 2016 to 1 Feb 2036

Expected per year

5,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

SEKEM tree project is registered with Gold Standard, located in Egypt. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 1,905 tonnes issued and 1,520 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has SEKEM tree project issued?

1,905 tonnes of credits have been issued and 1,520 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026