Burn Stoves Project in Kenya

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5642

Country

Kenya

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

2,866,342 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

2,785,968 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2016 to 2024: 2,866,342 tonnes issued and 2,785,968 retired.0250k500k750k1M2016 issued: 157,226 tonnes2016 retired: 157,226 tonnes20162017 issued: 278,593 tonnes2017 retired: 278,295 tonnes20172018 issued: 293,547 tonnes2018 retired: 266,950 tonnes20182019 issued: 277,373 tonnes2019 retired: 273,084 tonnes20192020 issued: 414,682 tonnes2020 retired: 400,827 tonnes20202021 issued: 510,271 tonnes2021 retired: 510,187 tonnes20212022 issued: 516,426 tonnes2022 retired: 490,587 tonnes20222023 issued: 355,898 tonnes2023 retired: 347,732 tonnes20232024 issued: 62,326 tonnes2024 retired: 61,080 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
202462,32661,080
2023355,898347,732
2022516,426490,587
2021510,271510,187
2020414,682400,827
2019277,373273,084
2018293,547266,950
2017278,593278,295
2016157,226157,226

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 26 April 2010).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 26 April 2010).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Kenya and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
5
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
17
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

12.3% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Eni Plenitude151,6402026
Nespresso90,0002022
Civitas Resources50,0002025
Nedbank50,0002020
Spotify1,4502021

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 4: Quality EducationGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate ActionGoal 15: Life On Land

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Large scale

Structure

Standalone project

Developer

ECOA Climate Capital

Crediting period

26 Apr 2010 to 25 Apr 2031

Expected per year

144,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

Burn Stoves Project in Kenya is registered with Gold Standard, located in Kenya. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 2,866,342 tonnes issued and 2,785,968 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has Burn Stoves Project in Kenya issued?

2,866,342 tonnes of credits have been issued and 2,785,968 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from Burn Stoves Project in Kenya?

Registry records name 5 organisations, including Eni Plenitude, Nespresso, Civitas Resources. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026