GS1247 VPA 25 Improved Kitchen Regimes - Dowa Boreholes Malawi

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD3106

Country

Malawi

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

106,519 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

81,872 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2013 to 2024: 106,519 tonnes issued and 81,872 retired.02.5k5k7.5k10k2013 issued: 3,844 tonnes2013 retired: 3,844 tonnes20132014 issued: 10,000 tonnes2014 retired: 10,000 tonnes20142015 issued: 10,000 tonnes2015 retired: 10,000 tonnes20152016 issued: 10,000 tonnes2016 retired: 10,000 tonnes20162017 issued: 10,000 tonnes2017 retired: 9,948 tonnes20172018 issued: 9,973 tonnes2018 retired: 9,537 tonnes20182019 issued: 9,198 tonnes2019 retired: 7,811 tonnes20192020 issued: 7,200 tonnes2020 retired: 7,200 tonnes20202021 issued: 6,851 tonnes2021 retired: 3,732 tonnes20212022 issued: 10,000 tonnes2022 retired: 9,800 tonnes20222023 issued: 9,860 tonnes20232024 issued: 9,593 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20249,593none
20239,860none
202210,0009,800
20216,8513,732
20207,2007,200
20199,1987,811
20189,9739,537
201710,0009,948
201610,00010,000
201510,00010,000
201410,00010,000
20133,8443,844

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 10 September 2013).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 10 September 2013).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Malawi and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

11.1% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company5,3782020
Powershop Australia3,7322026

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 6: Clean Water and SanitationGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

CO2balance UK ltd

Crediting period

10 Sep 2013 to 9 Sep 2027

Expected per year

10,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS1247 VPA 25 Improved Kitchen Regimes - Dowa Boreholes Malawi is registered with Gold Standard, located in Malawi. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 106,519 tonnes issued and 81,872 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS1247 VPA 25 Improved Kitchen Regimes - Dowa Boreholes Malawi issued?

106,519 tonnes of credits have been issued and 81,872 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS1247 VPA 25 Improved Kitchen Regimes - Dowa Boreholes Malawi?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including Takeda Pharmaceutical Company, Powershop Australia. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026