GS1247 VPA 94 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi
Registry
Gold Standard
Project ID
GLD5332
Country
Category
Not specified
Methodology
Not specified
Status
Not stated
Credits Issued
69,525 tCO₂e
Credits Retired
51,284 tCO₂e
Data as of
1 June 2026
Credit Passport
How to read itIssuance and retirement by vintage
| Vintage | Issued (tCO₂e) | Retired (tCO₂e) |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 5,826 | none |
| 2023 | 3,208 | 418 |
| 2022 | 7,609 | 7,458 |
| 2021 | 6,549 | 3,640 |
| 2020 | 7,374 | 7,374 |
| 2019 | 10,000 | 9,999 |
| 2018 | 10,000 | 3,596 |
| 2017 | 10,000 | 10,000 |
| 2016 | 8,959 | 8,799 |
Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026
Credit Passport in detail
ICVCM quality status
Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.
- Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.
The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.
Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026
CORSIA screen
A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.
First phase, 2024 to 2026
- ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
- DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 9 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
- Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.
Second phase, 2027 to 2029
- ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
- DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 9 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.
Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026
Malawi and Article 6
- Bilateral agreements
- 2
- Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
- Appointed
- Participation requirements for the Mechanism
- Published
- Cooperative approaches
- 1
- Article 6.2 activities
- 4
- Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
- 5
- Crediting Mechanism activities registered
- 1
This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.
Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026
Recorded buyers
Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.
26.1% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.
| Organisation | Tonnes retired | Latest year |
|---|---|---|
| Takeda Pharmaceutical Company | 9,800 | 2020 |
| Powershop Australia | 3,568 | 2026 |
Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.
Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026
Declared SDG contributions
Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.
Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026
Gold Standard's current record
Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026
Status
Gold Standard Certified Project
Project type
Energy Efficiency - Domestic
Scale
Micro scale
Structure
Part of a programme (VPA)
Developer
CO2balance UK ltd
Crediting period
9 Feb 2016 to 8 Feb 2028
Expected per year
10,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration
GS1247 VPA 94 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi is registered with Gold Standard, located in Malawi. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 69,525 tonnes issued and 51,284 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.
Related
Questions about this project
How many credits has GS1247 VPA 94 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi issued?
69,525 tonnes of credits have been issued and 51,284 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.
Which organisations have retired credits from GS1247 VPA 94 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi?
Registry records name 2 organisations, including Takeda Pharmaceutical Company, Powershop Australia. Many retirements name no beneficiary.
Registry data as of June 1, 2026