GS1247 VPA 95 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5335

Country

Malawi

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

70,082 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

58,280 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2016 to 2024: 70,082 tonnes issued and 58,280 retired.02.5k5k7.5k10k2016 issued: 8,603 tonnes2016 retired: 8,603 tonnes20162017 issued: 10,000 tonnes2017 retired: 10,000 tonnes20172018 issued: 10,000 tonnes2018 retired: 9,951 tonnes20182019 issued: 10,000 tonnes2019 retired: 10,000 tonnes20192020 issued: 8,860 tonnes2020 retired: 8,859 tonnes20202021 issued: 6,914 tonnes2021 retired: 3,766 tonnes20212022 issued: 6,670 tonnes2022 retired: 6,537 tonnes20222023 issued: 4,216 tonnes2023 retired: 564 tonnes20232024 issued: 4,819 tonnes2024
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20244,819none
20234,216564
20226,6706,537
20216,9143,766
20208,8608,859
201910,00010,000
201810,0009,951
201710,00010,000
20168,6038,603

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 22 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesCannot be confirmed from available dataCredits issued for vintages 2021 to 2024. The start of the first crediting period is recorded by Gold Standard as 22 February 2016, but whether that is the first period is not in registry data.

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Malawi and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
4
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
1

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

23.3% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company9,8002020
Powershop Australia3,7662026

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 1: No PovertyGoal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 5: Gender EqualityGoal 6: Clean Water and SanitationGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

CO2balance UK ltd

Crediting period

22 Feb 2016 to 21 Feb 2028

Expected per year

10,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS1247 VPA 95 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi is registered with Gold Standard, located in Malawi. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 70,082 tonnes issued and 58,280 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS1247 VPA 95 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi issued?

70,082 tonnes of credits have been issued and 58,280 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS1247 VPA 95 Improved Kitchen Regimes Multi-Country PoA - Dowa & Kasungu Boreholes Malawi?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including Takeda Pharmaceutical Company, Powershop Australia. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026