GS1289: Native Hydraid BioSand Water Filter Programme East Africa: VPA (02) Ethiopia

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD3509

Country

Ethiopia

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not specified

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

84,318 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

5,225 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2015 to 2025: 84,318 tonnes issued and 5,225 retired.02.5k5k7.5k10k2015 issued: 1,500 tonnes20152016 issued: 10,000 tonnes2016 retired: 4,644 tonnes20162017 issued: 9,999 tonnes2017 retired: 199 tonnes20172018 issued: 10,000 tonnes2018 retired: 199 tonnes20182019 issued: 9,877 tonnes2019 retired: 183 tonnes20192020 issued: 8,326 tonnes20202021 issued: 7,490 tonnes20212022 issued: 9,739 tonnes20222023 issued: 6,559 tonnes20232024 issued: 6,833 tonnes20242025 issued: 3,995 tonnes2025
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20253,995none
20246,833none
20236,559none
20229,739none
20217,490none
20208,326none
20199,877183
201810,000199
20179,999199
201610,0004,644
20151,500none

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 3 August 2015).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 3 August 2015).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Ethiopia and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
2
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
1
Article 6.2 activities
0
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
5
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
0

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

1.2% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Air New Zealand652022

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 6: Clean Water and SanitationGoal 8: Decent Work and Economic GrowthGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

NATIVE, A PUBLIC BENEFIT CORPORATION

Crediting period

3 Aug 2015 to 2 Aug 2025

Expected per year

10,000 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS1289: Native Hydraid BioSand Water Filter Programme East Africa: VPA (02) Ethiopia is registered with Gold Standard, located in Ethiopia. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 84,318 tonnes issued and 5,225 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS1289: Native Hydraid BioSand Water Filter Programme East Africa: VPA (02) Ethiopia issued?

84,318 tonnes of credits have been issued and 5,225 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS1289: Native Hydraid BioSand Water Filter Programme East Africa: VPA (02) Ethiopia?

Registry records name 1 organisation: Air New Zealand. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026