GS4424 VPA3 African Cookstoves and Water Programme

Registry Record

Registry

Gold Standard

Project ID

GLD5635

Country

Rwanda

Category

Not specified

Methodology

Not provided

Status

Not stated

Credits Issued

37,052 tCO₂e

Credits Retired

35,990 tCO₂e

Data as of

1 June 2026

Issuance and retirement by vintage

Issued Retired
Issuance and retirement by vintageVintages 2015 to 2022: 37,052 tonnes issued and 35,990 retired.02.5k5k7.5k10k2015 issued: 113 tonnes2015 retired: 113 tonnes20152016 issued: 5,226 tonnes2016 retired: 5,186 tonnes20162017 issued: 7,728 tonnes2017 retired: 7,717 tonnes20172018 issued: 6,706 tonnes2018 retired: 6,572 tonnes20182019 issued: 6,128 tonnes2019 retired: 6,007 tonnes20192020 issued: 5,344 tonnes2020 retired: 5,233 tonnes20202021 issued: 3,547 tonnes2021 retired: 2,947 tonnes20212022 issued: 2,260 tonnes2022 retired: 2,215 tonnes2022
VintageIssued (tCO₂e)Retired (tCO₂e)
20222,2602,215
20213,5472,947
20205,3445,233
20196,1286,007
20186,7066,572
20177,7287,717
20165,2265,186
2015113113

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

Credit Passport in detail

ICVCM quality status

Methodology could not be matched to ICVCM records.

  • Programme: Gold Standard, CCP-eligible since April 2024.

The CCP label is applied to credits by the registry, issuance by issuance. An approved methodology means credits from this project can be eligible; it does not mean every credit carries the label.

Source: ICVCM assessment decisions · Decisions read 19 September 2026

What this layer checks

CORSIA screen

A screen against published ICAO criteria, not an eligibility determination.

First phase, 2024 to 2026

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2024 to 2026.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 12 December 2015).
  • Host country authorisationCannot be confirmed from available dataAuthorisation is granted per activity. This screen cannot confirm whether this project holds a Letter of Authorization.

Second phase, 2027 to 2029

  • ProgrammePassesGold Standard is approved by ICAO for 2027 to 2029.
  • DatesDoes not passCrediting began before 1 January 2016 (Gold Standard records a crediting period from 12 December 2015).

Programme-specific exclusions were not assessed. Host country context is under Article 6 below.

Source: ICAO eligibility decisions and registry records · Criteria verified 25 September 2026

What this layer checks

Rwanda and Article 6

Bilateral agreements
3
Authority for the Paris Agreement Crediting Mechanism
Appointed
Participation requirements for the Mechanism
Published
Cooperative approaches
2
Article 6.2 activities
14
Crediting Mechanism activities approved by the host
2
Crediting Mechanism activities registered
0

This is country-level context. It does not show whether this project is authorised.

Source: UN Article 6 tracking · Data as of 4 September 2026

What this layer checks

Recorded buyers

Organisations named in registry retirement records. Many retirements name no beneficiary, so this list is partial.

0.3% of retired tonnes name an organisation as beneficiary.

OrganisationTonnes retiredLatest year
Stora Enso1132021
Air New Zealand52022

Retired credits from this project? See what a company can still say about them under the EU green claims rules.

Source: Registry records · Data as of 1 June 2026

What this layer checks

Declared SDG contributions

Goals the project declared to its registry. CRBN.credit does not measure these outcomes.

Goal 3: Good Health and Well-BeingGoal 7: Affordable and Clean EnergyGoal 13: Climate Action

Source: Gold Standard registry · Data as of 17 September 2026

What this layer checks

Gold Standard's current record

Gold Standard registry · as of 28 October 2026

Status

Gold Standard Certified Project

Project type

Energy Efficiency - Domestic

Scale

Micro scale

Structure

Part of a programme (VPA)

Developer

Likano Project Development GmbH

Crediting period

12 Dec 2015 to 11 Dec 2022

Expected per year

9,719 tCO₂e, as estimated at registration

GS4424 VPA3 African Cookstoves and Water Programme is registered with Gold Standard under the Not provided protocol, located in Rwanda. As of 1 June 2026, registry records show 37,052 tonnes issued and 35,990 tonnes retired. This reflects registry-reported figures, not an independent quality assessment.

Related

Similar projects

Same methodology and country, largest issuance first.

Questions about this project

How many credits has GS4424 VPA3 African Cookstoves and Water Programme issued?

37,052 tonnes of credits have been issued and 35,990 retired, according to registry records as of 1 June 2026.

Which organisations have retired credits from GS4424 VPA3 African Cookstoves and Water Programme?

Registry records name 2 organisations, including Stora Enso, Air New Zealand. Many retirements name no beneficiary.

Registry data as of June 1, 2026